Don’t worry, be happy, Jesus was born!

Christmas is just a few days away and 2015 is almost over. This year has not only gone by fast, but also many worries that I know lurked in from January-up to now have gone bye-bye.

Worries? Yes. If anyone reading this is a bit like me, then you will be able to relate.

I’m the type of person who likes to be on top of things…I’m a planner…I’m organized…I like to be in control. One of my sisters called me a perfectionist once, and though I know that nothing I do can ever be perfect, I do strive to make things excellent. I also like being early to appointments, that is, when I’m able. Though with friends I do last minute things, I don’t enjoy the timing because I do like to plan things out. If I plan to do anything with anyone at a given time, I expect the person to be ready at that time and not have me waiting. Yes, I’m impatient.

What does all of this have to do with worries? Or with them flying by like 2015? Better yet, why am I writing about it? Well, here is why.

Earlier I read Isaiah 9:6 which reads:

For a child is born to us, a son is given to us. The government will rest on His shoulders.  And He will be called: Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.

I was talking to God and telling Him about my circumstances; these things that overwhelm me at times and I cannot see them moving nor changing. Worries of the 2015 year. I learned once that worry is a result of fear. And, with this verse and with the sermon at church today, I was reminded of that.

You see, Jesus was born and He was/is given to us. But, if you know the story, He was no ordinary baby as the verse above describes.

Wonderful Counselor!

Mighty God!

Everlasting Father!

Prince of Peace!

These many names given before even seeing the light of day?! (The verse in Isaiah was a prophecy) Not only names but qualities, character…the very essence of God in human form was given to you and me.

As I do some times, I laid plain these circumstances of mine before Him… I admitted the worry…the fear. But, He assured me once again of this:

He is there for me when I need to know if to go left or right, if I need to stay or go. If I should open a door or keep it shut. He knows best for me. His word says that His thoughts are not like my thoughts and His ways are beyond anything I can imagine. Wonderful Counselor!

I not only can run to Him for advise, but can come to Him, as a child and call I’m Abba (Daddy, very personal.) The void that my earthly father did not know how to fill, He is able to fill even more than what I can imagine. There is an assurance that I am cared for. He has my back. He can comfort me. What He has is mine. He wishes to give me more than what I can ever ask for. He will ALWAYS be there for me. Everlasting Father!

Oh these circumstances! These parade of life that I can only see a few feet ahead! These worries! This fear! THIS IS NOTHING TO HIM! The things that seem impossible to me are always possible to Him. Even the impossible, He makes it happen. Just ask the impregnated-by-the-Holy-Spirit- young-engaged-virgin Mary. She gave birth to Him. Mighty God!

He does not want me to be fearless, but to trust Him, to have Faith. Just like with Mary (Luke 2), He wants me to realize who He is and that no matter the circumstance, no matter the worry, I can turn it into faith in Him. I can trust Him and He will work it out for my good. That worry that was overwhelming is no more, I’ve chosen the Peace that surpasses all understanding to overtake my heart. He is, the Prince of Peace!

I pray that this Christmas, you as the reader will take a hold of this truth I’ve been reminded of. Know that we both will forget at times, but He will always be there.

Merry Christmas!

