Movie Quote: “New School, New Baby Boo!”

If you have ever seen Amanda Bynes on She’s The Man, then you probably recognize the quote on the tile.  

  
Thinkinf of it, I cannot help but laugh. That movie is hilarious…at least for me. 

Attempting to prove that she (dressed up as her twin brother) is cool enough to hang around with the dudes and make the soccer team, Viola (Amanda Bynes) sets up this scene at a pizzeria with her friends. 

As they pretend to be ex-girlfriends of Sebastian (Viola’s twin brother,) they come up to her/Sebastian and one says “our school lost its top gun” in which Viola/Sebastian replies proudly and confidently “new school, new baby boo!”

I might have not done the best at explaining the scene, but my intent is not to summarize the movie. 

I started off with the quote because of the New Year: 2016. 

Whaaaat?!?!?!

Yes, 2016. I still remember Y2K and staring deeply into my computer thinking that it would go crazy at the start of the new millennium 😂😂

Anyway. Back to my point. 

“New School, New Baby Boo.”

It definitely is a new year. Something never experienced before, duh. However, is there really a “new baby boo?”

And, I’m not literally talking about having a special someone, but really anything in general. 

We all have probably made resolutions in years past. Like Viola/Sebastian we probably begun proudly and confidently. Then, at the end of the year we probably put our heads down. 

I don’t know…maybe we didn’t continue through our excercise plan, or diet. Hmmm, we dropped out of school. Maybe we planned trips and didn’t happen. Dating…marriage and it didn’t come to past. Instead of having a great year, it probably was not so great. So much so that now this year, we don’t have Sebastian’s attitude: “New school, new baby boo!” Our “New Year, New Me” attitude might be somewhere deep inside, not ready to come out. Why? Because of the past. And, there is nothing wrong with that. 

Before I get to the point, I want to say something. I believe that many times, because others show (through social media) how great the year was and how much they accomplished, we feel that we have failed in the year. One thing is that many of these people only show the good times and not the bad. I’m not saying that they should post the bad, but what I do want to say is that we all have rough times. Sometimes more so than others. 

Now back to the past years and it’s events. 

I speak now for myself: though I am very greatful to God for this new year and having me where I am, there are times when I am not so confident to look into the new year. 

Earlier when I said that there is nothing wrong with not having Sebastian’s attitude, I said it because we are humans. We have the right to feel… I don’t know… Scared of a new year… Scared of trying again… Iffy about dating, marriage, going to school again, picking back up an instrument… Healing a broken relationship.  I’m sure there are many more things. And, it’s okay to feel that way…no need to suppress the feeling… No need to hide it…no need to pretend that you are more than ready and that you are like Pinky and the Brain, ready to take over the world. 

  

I think what’s important is that through this fear, through this iffy feeling, we acknowledge that inspite of that, we can be courageous and trust God to help us.

I have heard so many definitions and quotes of this word but one that stands out the most is this one from Nelson Mandela:

I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it. The brave man is not he who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers that fear.

Many times when we push our fear down, thinking that we are okay and we got it, it ends up coming back up making us more fearful than ever. More paranoic, thus stoping us from trying and even fulfilling things that we were maybe supposed to do. 

But, when we decide to take courage, to take a step of faith, and go for it anyway, we conquer the fear and we can look back and say, I’m glad I went for it. 

I can say right now that I have no clue what this year will bring. But, I am expectant. Though I have some things in mind that I would like to do, it hasn’t been very concrete. 1) because I was a bit afraid and 2) (the most important now) because I want to make God the center of my decisions more than ever before. 

It is a scary thought, sometimes, to leave everything in someone’s Hands. God’s Hands. Why, because I still think that I, in my own little “controlling” being, can control my own future. But, seeing how He has helped me in the past, it propels me to trust Him yet again for this year. 

I don’t know how the year will go. I have laid out the plan and have asked Him to lead me. He might change it, but I will trust Him with it. Until then, even if I’m a bit afraid, I will go for it. Leaving what’s behind… like that one bible verse Paul talks about…and looking forward to that prize that God has for me. 

But those who trust in the Lord will find new strength.They will soar high on wings like eagles.They will run and not grow weary.They will walk and not faint. Isaiah 40:31

